What a lovely surprise it was to open my computer last week and discover that Su Leslie had nominated me for a “Very Inspiring BloggerAward”.  Thank you Su, you made my whole week!

inspiring-blogger

My nomination comes from Su Lesley’s Blog “Shaking the Tree”  (http://suzysu.wordpress.com/) which I have been following for some time.  It is an excellent blog about Su’s search for her family history and the stories she uncovers.

The rules for accepting this Award are as follows:

– Display the award logo on your blog page.

– Link back to the person who nominated you.

– State 7 facts about yourself.

– Nominate 15 other bloggers for the award.

– Notify those bloggers of their nomination and the award’s requirements.

So here are seven facts about me:

  1. I was born in Glasgow but came to Australia at the age of 21 with a 9 months working visa.  I’ve been here ever since.
  2. One of my first jobs in Australia was as a Jillaroo on an angora goat property in the Snowy Mountains.
  3. On impulse, I once accepted a flight on an ultralight.  It took off from a Mandurah beach as my two very young children, with my friend, waved goodbye.   I still can’t believe I did that!  Crazy.
  4. I was accepted into university at the age of 39 when I was a single parent with no money.  It was the best thing I ever did for myself.
  5. When I first arrived in Australia I was introduced to witchettygrubs but something got lost in translation and for many years after I referred to them as grubbitywitches.  No-one ever told me I had it wrong!
  6. My first job was as a shorthand typist using a manual typewriter.  When I explain this to my high school students, they look at me as though I came from the Stone Age.
  7. I live in a very beautiful part of the world – Kalbarri, Western Australia – a far cry from Glasgow.

The 15 bloggers I nominate for this award are listed below.  As I have only been blogging for a short time, I have only quite recently started following some of them.

  1. Shaking the Tree – Su Lesley’s blog really inspires me and motivates me to keep plodding along with my own family history.  There are many parallels in our blogs and that encourages me to continue blogging my own family stories.  I find I open my computer hoping there will be a new entry from Su.
  2. Glen’s Family History Blog – Glen is researching and reviewing different Genealogy software and, although he has only just started, I think this will be a real time-saver for many genealogists.  Glen has also written some “how to” blogs about researching your family tree and I found them very helpful when I first started my research.
  3. Judy’s Family History – I have only recently discovered Judy’s blog and I find it fascinating.  We have some ancestors from the areas in Scotland (Hurlford, Dysart to name two) and that makes it even more interesting to me.  Judy has done a lot of research and written not only about her family history but about Scottish laws and so on which I have found interesting and helpful.
  4. A Nine Pound Hammer ……or a woman like you, either will do – at least I think that is the right name!  I love the old gorgeous old photos on this site.  Stunning.
  5. The Institute of Wandering and Experimental Affairs – I love the photos of London and the comments that go with them.  It reminds me of when I lived in London.
  6. Until the Ink Runs Out – As an English Teacher, this blog gives me some great ideas for my classroom.  I have only just started following it and I look forward to getting more ideas.  I think maybe I should give some ideas back – if I could just think of some…
  7. Cotton Happy Days – I love patchwork quilts and making them so this blog and its tutorials gives me lots of tips.
  8. Kristen Lamb’s Blog – Kristen is an author who gives tips on how to write better.  I have always wanted to write and always open to help.  I like the informal way Kristen writes and enjoy reading her blog.
  9. Write Meg – Meg blogs about Writing, Reading, Loving and Eating – 4 of my favourite things to do so how could I go passed this?  Meg has a lot of followers and I can see why.  Her blog is an interesting mix of recipes, book reviews, anecdotes and more.
  10. A Stitch or Two a Day – I’m not very arty but I admire people who are.  This blog is a lovely mix of rustic and earthy arts and crafts.  There is felt work, quilting and so much more.  I love the colours and the creativity.  A lovely blog.
  11. Angela Buckley  Angela is an English writer who is researching her family history.  Angela’s blog is interesting and different and I like a lot of the photos she puts up and discusses.
  12. Sewjournal – Yes, another patchwork blog but different from the other too.  Very interesting.
  13. A Stitch in Time – No, not another patchworking blog but yes, another Family History Blog which I came across through reading “Shaking the Tree” award nominees.  A lovely blog with some fascinating photos.
  14. Nomadruss in Words and Photos – This blogger describes himself as a “photographer, wilderness guide, adventurer” and that intrigued me.  However, the stunning photos also grabbed me.  A visually pleasing blog with a lot of followers.
  15. Classroom as Microcosm – This blog attracted my attention because it is again about ideas for the classroom.  At least one blog deals with blogging in the classroom and, as this is something I have just started at my school, I am keen to see how it all works and to get ideas to keep students interested.  So I will be watching this blog with interest.
